What I’m Reading

I am an omnivorous reader with a strangely retentive memory for trifles. – Sherlock Holmes

I’m a reader. I’m also a total bibliophile and you can have my paper books when you pry them from my cold, dead hands. I buy books at an alarming rate and my reading preferences are broad. Naturally, I read a lot of fantasy and LGBT, but I also love spy fiction, 20th century literature, and WWII non-fiction, among other things. My favorite writers are Evelyn Waugh, Ellen Kushner, and Sherman Alexie, who are nothing alike. I have a soft spot for vampire stories, but am finicky about them. I re-read favorites, some three or four times.

I’m having a good run this year with books that don’t suck. These are the last three I read:

  • Hunter of Demons (SPECTR 1) – Jordan L. Hawk. (M/M Paranormal Romance, 4/5)
  • Geisha – Liza Dalby. (Non-Fiction, 4/5)
  • The Defector (Gabriel Allon 9) – Daniel Silva. (Spy Thriller, 3/5)

Jordan L. Hawk is a recent discovery for me, Geisha was a re-read, and, while The Defector wasn’t my favorite Gabriel Allon novel, I love that series.

So that’s what’s been on my radar as a reader. Now I’m looking at starting Max Hastings’ Inferno: The World At War, which is one of The Books about WWII. Good stuff all around, really!

Any thoughts?

